Search documentation...

K

Userflow

Sync your freshest data to Userflow to drastically improve your user onboarding

Setup

Upon selecting Userflow as your destination you will be prompted to input your Userflow API key.

You can locate this API key within your Userflow account by navigating to Settings > API:

Syncing

Hightouch currently supports syncing the following Userflow objects:

  • Users
  • Groups

Sync Modes

There are two different possible sync modes for Userflow:

  • Upsert - pushes new objects to Userflow and updates fields that change in your warehouse.
  • Updateonly updates particular fields on existing objects in Userflow. It does not add new objects.

Record Matching

Records can be matched from your source to your Userflow workspace by the user id or group id, depending on the object you are syncing.

Field Mapping

You may also sync columns from your source to Userflow's object properties. You have the option of mapping to attributes that already exist on the Userflow object, or to create new attributes for current and future use.

*NOTE: Aside from groups and memberships on User objects, all other fields will be associated with the Group or User object's attributes field within Userflow.

A note on "groups" and "memberships"

The Userflow API allows you to create/update both groups and memberships through creating/updating a user by including the appropriate groups/memberships as fields on the user object in the request payload.

However, please be aware that their inclusion is not required and at most only one of either groups or memberships can be set on a user per request. If your intention is only to sync group information, it may be best to sync Group objects instead.

For more information on groups and memberships, including how they are properly formatted on a User object, please consult the Userflow API documentation:

  • Formatting groups for a User:

  • Formatting memberships for a User:

Pruning Memberships

Hightouch also supports the ability to prune memberships of a user upon sync through the prune_memberships property in the request payload. As per the Userflow API documentation:

"By default, the API will only update the memberships/groups that's included in the request. Existing memberships that are not included will not be removed, unless you set prune_memberships to true. Only set prune_memberships to true, if the groups or memberships list is set and contains all the groups the user belongs to. When a membership is deleted, the group itself is left intact."

When either groups or memberships are chosen to be synced to the destination, Hightouch will give you the option to toggle membership pruning on or off.

*NOTE: By default, membership pruning is disabled.

    Need help?

    Our team is relentlessly focused on your success. We're ready to jump on a call to help unblock you.

    • Connection issues with your data warehouse?
    • Confusing API responses from destination systems?
    • Unsupported destination objects or modes?
    • Help with complex SQL queries?

    Feature Requests?

    If you see something that's missing from our app, let us know and we'll work with you to build it!

    We want to hear your suggestions for new sources, destinations, and other features that would help you activate your data.

On this page

SetupSyncingSync ModesRecord MatchingField MappingA note on "groups" and "memberships"Pruning Memberships

Was this page helpful?